Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Discussion about developing or modifying gadgets and plugins

Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Postby udahost » Fri May 28, 2010 6:31 pm

Hi, I'm building an additional menu specifically for StaticPage gadget.
So I'll appreciate if you help me out with planning the way it should work.

My current work is based on the 0.8.2 version of StaticPage (comes with the 0.8.13 complete version of Jaws).
The Admin Layouts:
1. I added a combo box with the values of show and hide, Title: Show menu.
2. I added another combo box containing the list of existing menus.
3. choosing a menu from the menu list will add the current page or translation to a specific menu, menus will be multi-selectable.
4. I added a section in the Admin, saying Menus, where you can manage the menus.
5. first you can choose a menu and edit it.
6. you can add a menu.
7. in the menu editing, you can move the pages up and down, change the default page for the menu and add and remove pages from the menu.
8. from the menu editing you can also add another menu to a existing menu.
9. every menu will have an id and a fast url. pages will be accessible by a combination of [cat|category]/{menuid or fasturl}/{pageid or fasturl}
10. in the menu editing you will be able to choose where the menu should appear on the layout, before or after the content.
11. in the StaticPage template, the menu is aaded either on the top of the content (so you can float it the side with css), depending on the menu settings.

My plan is also to add the option within the menu gadget, that if a menu item is a StaticPage menu, it should retrieve the menu items of that category / menu. so you wont need to add every page to the menu.

If somebody has any ideas, notes or anything that night help in creating this development, please speak up.

Thanks,
Yehuda
Yehuda Deutsch | IT Developer
Unique It! Simple IT, Simply Unique.
udahost
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Postby afz » Sat May 29, 2010 2:33 am

adding keywords item to each page(a text field), for set html page keywords, can enhance site SEO
afz
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:46 am

Re: Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Postby udahost » Sat May 29, 2010 3:10 am

OK, afz, I tried it and it will be added.
just a question, can I also replace the general keywords with the keywords from the static page instead of adding them?
Yehuda Deutsch | IT Developer
Unique It! Simple IT, Simply Unique.
udahost
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Postby afz » Tue Jun 01, 2010 1:02 am

you can only add new keywords, meta keywords via:
Code: Select all
$GLOBALS['app']->Layout->AddToMetaKeywords($keywords);

but repetitive keywords will be remove automatically
afz
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:46 am

Re: Additional menu / categories for StaticPage

Postby udahost » Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:13 am

Yeah, I know that method, thanks about the repetitive issue.
Yehuda Deutsch | IT Developer
Unique It! Simple IT, Simply Unique.
udahost
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:01 pm


Return to Gadgets and Plugins Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron